Graduate School of Engineering, Kobe University




Education & Research of Engineering

The Faculty of Engineering was established in 1949, growing out of the former Kobe Technical College, which was originally established in 1921. Since then, the Faculty has contributed to the development of modern industrial society in the latter half of the 20th Century through its education and research. The aim of the Faculty in the new millennium is to educate future researchers and engineers to be able to contribute to the welfare of humankind through cutting-edge technologies.

The Faculty now has six departments: Architecture, Civil Engineering, Electrical and Electronic Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Chemical Science and Engineering, and Computer Science and Systems Engineering, each of which consists of several divisions areas dedicated to the specific purposes of education and research. Approximately two-thirds of students continue on to Master’s program for higher education.

Established in April 2007 as an educational and research institute aimed at providing engineering knowledge, fundamental and applied technologies directly related to a symbiosis and sustainable development of society. Departments in this Graduate School is arranged in a similar way as the Faculty of Engineering to offer a consistent educational system from undergraduate to graduate school.

The Graduate School of Engineering offers the following five departments in both the Master’s and Doctor’s Degree Program: Architecture, Civil Engineering, Electrical and Electronic Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, and Chemical Science and Engineering. By covering a wide range of interdisciplinary academic fields (environment, nanomaterial, information and telecommunication, life science, energy, robot, safety etc.), these five departments will create new technologies for the betterment of the society.